In 2015 the Vuelta turns 80 and celebrates its 70th edition that will begin on the 22nd of August in Puerto Banus, in the province of Malaga, with a 7-kilometre Team Time Trial and the joy and responsibility of reaching the level of the 2014 edition, where Alberto Contador, Chris Froome and Alejandro Valverde completed an unforgettable podium.

The first week will take place entirely within Andalusia and then travel all the way up to Andorra, covering almost the entire Mediterranean. The provinces of Malaga, Cadiz, Seville, Cordoba, Jaen, Granada, Murcia, Alicante, Valencia and Castellon will be prominent in the 2015 Vuelta. After the first rest day in Andorra the race will feature one of the toughest stages in the history of the Vuelta, and then head towards the Cantabrian coastline, passing through Lleida, Zaragoza and Vitoria. This will mark the beginning of the mountain triptych in Cantabria and Asturias, with three tough finishes that could make a difference in the general classification.

The only Individual Time Trial will be held in Burgos and will give way to the last week of the Vuelta. Before arriving in Madrid, the riders will face a stage in the Madrid Mountain Range. The finale will once again take place in the Spanish capital where the 2015 Vuelta winner will be crowned on the 13th of September, having completed a tour with 9 high-altitude finishes, all of them unprecedented.




Share this article

Submit to FacebookSubmit to Twitter